Write Better Books – Storytelling: Filtered or Unfiltered?

#Writing. Great advice about keeping the reader in mind, and not being intrusive in your writing. Reblogged from https://danalatorre.ccom

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

dan your humble host

You get a note from a critique partner or editor friend that says, “Cut this filter.”

And you are like, Huh? What?

What’s a filter?

Filters are stuff you write that takes us out of the Main Character’s head for a nanosecond. Usually they aren’t needed. You don’t say to yourself, “I notice it’s raining.” It just rains.

EXAMPLE:

When I came out of the store, I noticed it was raining.

OR

When I came out of the store, the rain was coming down in sheets.

“I noticed” is the filter. We – the readers – are “I.” We notice whatever the MC notices, feels what she feels, etc. Saying I noticed in a story is like narrating to yourself in real life. Vagrants on New York City street corners do that, not your character.

I saw

I felt

I noticed

Your story is more reader-centric and…

View original post 240 more words

