How To Write Characters With Unique Sensory Quirks

This is great. I have lots of quirks but never thought of sharing them with my characters. I was always labeled as weird when I was a kid. Guess as an adult, I don’t want people to know how weird I am. But it would make my characters more interesting. Reblogged from https://rachelpoli.com

Rachel Poli

We all have issues. We all have quirks. It’s part of what makes us human.

Therefore, our characters should have quirks too.

How to write characters with unique sensory quirksWhat exactly is a quirk?

A quirk is an unusual behavior, an out of the ordinary habit. If it was something everyone did, then it wouldn’t exactly be a “quirk.” But I’m not saying no two people can share the same quirk. We all have our likes and dislikes.

But, for the sake of descriptive writing, I’m going to stick with sensory quirks.

And I’m going to talk a lot about myself, so I won’t blame you if you decide to leave now.

What’s a sensory quirk?

I don’t even know if this is a real thing or if I made it up, but I’m going to pretend it is for the sake of this post.

A sensory quirk is just what it sounds like. A quirk that…

View original post 505 more words

