Subject: GRAVE HUMOUR…

That was corny but funny. Thanks for sharing. Reblogged from https://thestoryreadingapeblog.com

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

A tourist in Vienna is going through a graveyard and all of a sudden he hears music. No one is around, so he starts searching for the source.

He finally locates the origin and finds it is coming from a grave with a headstone that reads: “Ludwig van Beethoven, 1770-1827.

Then he realises that the music is Beethoven’ s Ninth Symphony and it is being played backward!

Puzzled, he leaves the graveyard and persuades a friend to return with him.

By the time they arrive back at the grave, the music has changed. This time it is the Seventh Symphony, but like the previous piece, it is being played backwards.

Curious, the men agree to consult a music scholar. When they return with the expert, the Fifth Symphony is playing, again backwards.

The expert notices that the symphonie s are being played in the reverse order in which they were…

View original post 86 more words

Pimp My Bio- PitchWars 2017

Dacia, I am thrilled that you have this opportunity. (BTW: Thank you for being a veteran, for risking it all to serve our great country, with all of its flaws). Love the pitch. Keep it up. Reblogged from https://britestfyrefly.wordpress.com

britestfyrefly

Pimp My Bio- Pitch Wars 2017

I have missed my blog so much this month while tightening up my novel, APPARENT POWER. It is an Adult thriller with elements of light science fiction, and some very complicated relationships. I just imagined all those folks that made book-to-movies so popular, figured they had grown up and possibly had kids, and wrote a book that they would love but relate to as adults. What’s not in the book? Cheating. Also there are no space ships, robots, or magic. Just some very clever science.

giphyMY BOOK APPARENT POWER:

Untitled design

An apocalyptic disaster awakens a dormant gene in a quarter of the world’s population. With an even rarer gene, the life of an emergency room nurse has turned into a race against time.

Stranded in southern Colorado, a hundred miles from home—and from her two-year-old son—Valerie’s genetics are essential in a government plot for domination:…

View original post 400 more words

Tricky words: What does falsify mean?

Thank you for sharing this. I was not aware there were two definitions for “falsify.” Now I know. I agree with you, though: I will stick to the common usage of the word in non-academic circles. It’s less confusing that way. Reblogged from https://libroediting.com

LibroEditing proofreading, editing, transcription, localisation

I occasionally write about tricky words rather than troublesome pairs on this blog, and here’s one that always makes me feel a little uneasy. When that happens, I look it up (a large part of being a decent editor / proofreader is knowing when to look stuff up), and I find I have had to look this one up a few times.

So, falsify.

The most common meaning for “to falsify”, in my opinion, is the one around making something become false. You might change something to mislead “We falsified the results to make it look like smoking is good for you”. You are effectively changing something, a document or some results, in order to deceive people. Falsification is the noun for the action of falsifying, and a falsifier does it.

But the other meaning is to prove to be false, or to disprove. In this case, it’s the opposite…

View original post 159 more words

City Footbridge Gets People Closer to Nature

These footbridges are amazing. Wish I could go to China and walk them. The Chinese people are very clever at making the most of the natural resources in their country. Reblogged from https://alk3r.wordpress.com

ALK3R

A skywalk is seen slithering through a litchi orchard in Xiangmi Park in the southern Chinese city of Shenzhen, giving local residents a chance of getting close to nature.

View original post 92 more words

The Girl In The Shadows

I am sixteen and my friends are very few. They are chosen with care. It isn’t that I’m stuck-up or conceited; it’s more like people are okay in small doses. I don’t like people. People hurt each other. They make demands. Love is conditional based on what they can get out of a relationship. People [...]