Healing Emotional Scars

I grew up in a negative household. Now don’t get me wrong; I’m not saying I had a rotten childhood.  I used to think I did, but I grew up and realized that my parents did the best they could, given their childhoods. At least my parents paid attention to me and my mom did play games with me. That’s a lot more than what some other people can say.

Unfortunately, though, many of my memories are of being belittled and criticized. One of the last things my dad ever said to was, “You’re dumb.”

I am technologically challenged and I am easily frustrated with electronic devices that don’t seem to like me. Our phone belongs to my husband. When he texts a message he doesn’t have to keep hitting the back button to get the correct letter. Most people text with their thumbs. I have to use the edge of the tip of my index finger and even then I don’t get the right letter half of the time. I know it has auto correct and you can just touch the word and it will be entered. But I want to do it right. Anybody else got this hang-up?

When I get frustrated I feel stupid. When I feel stupid I often ask God why I couldn’t have a better brain. Why can’t I understand, accomplish, use simple things like a cell phone without crying because it doesn’t work for me? In other words, “God, why do I have to be so stupid? Why can’t I have a normal brain like everyone else?

A few days ago I had one of these episodes and God finally answered me. He said two things, and both of them are right out of scripture. First He said, “Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?” Rom. 9:20.

The second verse He used was “But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty;” I Cor. 1:27

So I may not be as smart as I want to be, but I am as smart as God wants me to be, and if He chooses to use someone as “dumb” as me, I’m okay with that.

And as I write this, one more verse comes to mind. “And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.” Col. 3:17

So if you are in need of healing some emotional scars, remember that God made you on purpose for His great purposes. God can use handicapped people. He can use deformed people. He can use lame people, blind people, mentally challenged people, people who flunk out of school, people who are rejected by society and/or their families.

God created each and every person for a specific reason. If you don’t get to know Him by receiving Jesus as your savior, you will never know God’s purpose for you. And if you’ve been in trouble with the law, spent time in prison, no matter how bad you think you have been, God still loves you. Jesus died on the cross to take your penalty and mine, for our sins. His arms are stretched out, ready to receive you. He is just waiting for you to invite Him into your heart.

You can’t earn your salvation. It is a FREE gift. If you accept it, all you have to do is admit to God/Jesus that you are a sinner (just like every person in the world), and ask Him to save you from your sinful nature. It’s that easy to get saved.

Once saved, you will spend eternity with God and the Lord Jesus Christ. You cannot lose your salvation. Jesus promises eternal life, and He does know the meaning of the word “eternal.” It isn’t until you mess up, or until you get mad at God and turn away. You will lose any rewards when you stand before Him; you may stand before Him ashamed (I suspect most of us will be ashamed that we didn’t do more for Him). When we get saved (receive Jesus as our savior) we are SEALED until the day of redemption, when He calls our name and takes us out of here before God starts pouring out His judgment. Jesus said of all that the Father puts in His hand, He will not lose one. Scripture also tells us that the only person who can break that seal is Jesus Himself. And He won’t.

If you ask Jesus to save you, the next step is to find a church. This is important. You need a church that believes that the Bible is the INFALLIBLE (that means without errors or mistakes) word of God. You need a King James Bible (not New King James or King James 21st Century version). All of the other “Bibles” have been changed to suit our modern times. Some leave out whole chapters. Others change many of the words, which also changes the meaning of the verses which have been changed. The King James Bible defines itself in most places. Where it doesn’t a good study Bible (such as a Life Application Study Bible) will have notes to explain the verse.

A good church will not be legalistic, but will encourage you as you grow in the Lord. Get involved in Sunday School. It is the place where you can ask questions, get answers, and have a discussion. You will make new friends and have more fellowship.

If you have any questions feel free to ask me. I will be glad to help in any way I can.

