Don’t Forget Your Minor Characters!

Writers take note: sometimes we take our secondary characters too lightly, but they can end up being major characters in sequels, or in a series all their own. Reblogged from https://writingyourfirstnovelblog.com

Writing your first novel-Things you should know

quote-respect-your-characters-even-the-minor-ones-in-art-as-in-life-everyone-is-the-hero-of-sarah-waters-43-27-03I’m in the revision process with my novel and one of the areas I am focusing on is character development. When you hear character development, you usually think of main characters or supporting characters. Well my main characters do need some work, but for this particular blog I was talking about those ‘fly by’ characters that step into your novel, do what you want them to do, and then disappear never to be heard of again.

I received a critique a while back in regards to four minor characters in my novel. “A lot of new characters have been introduced, and they all run together in my mind. I think more time needs to be spent developing these characters as individuals rather than some generic group of friends.

The lady that provided the critique was right. I didn’t provide any description of these characters. Except for the fact that they had names, you would have had no idea which one I was…

View original post 224 more words

Antagonists Are People, Too

Tips on creating believable characters. This is great. Reblogged from https://rachelpoli.com

Rachel Poli

It’s hard to have a good plot without someone to drive your protagonist forward. Often times, that someone happens to be a “bad guy.”

Someone who is not nice, someone who isn’t your protagonist’s number one fan, someone who wants the spotlight for themselves and goes about it the wrong way. There are a lot of reasons a protagonist becomes a protagonist. Often it’s something bad, but sometimes it’s not.

antagonistWho is the antagonist?

The antagonist is a character in your novel. Often times they are the “bad guy,” the person the protagonist is trying to stop, the person the readers don’t root for.

However, you have to remember that the antagonist is just as important to the novel as your protagonist is.

There are many different types of antagonists.

  • The Psychopath
  • The Hater
  • The Power Hungry
  • The Insane
  • The Rival

There are more types of villains, of course, but…

View original post 346 more words

2 Tips For Introducing Your Protagonist

A refresher post on show; don’t tell, and how to get your readers to root for your character. Reblogged from https://ryanlanz.com

A Writer's Path

apple-1216853_640

by Kathryn

What’s wrong with this picture?

I wake up in the morning and look in the mirror, find my big green eyes crusted with sleep. I brush my beautiful brown hair and check my flawless skin for pimples, but of course I don’t have any, so I don’t need to put on any makeup. Then I walk over to my closet and put on my school uniform shirt and skirt, check my reflection one more time. Then I head down stairs for a delicious, filling breakfast.’

Obviously that paragraph is insipid to the point of hyperbolic, but it’s not like writing like this doesn’t exist.

Remember learning the concept of “show, not tell” back in elementary school?

Yes, it’s still (and always) super relevant.

View original post 973 more words

8 Myths Uncovered About Nutritional Food For Pets

Attention Dog/Cat Lovers: Find out what’s good and what’s not good for your pet’s diet. Myths are dispelled here. Reblogged from https://katzenworld.co.uk

Katzenworld

Hi everyone,

Today’s infographic is provided by Serrena Merle:

Pets are adorable to their owners. Along with the other playful activities, providing the best food is also an expression of love and affection towards a pet.

Unfortunately, most people are ignorant or don’t realize that not following an accurate diet guide, can be harmful to their pets.

Pet food cannot be generalized for all type of animals. Selecting the right diet sheet becomes a huge responsibility, as there are many determining factors like breed, size, life stage, activities of a pet.

Ideally a pet’s food guide should be checked for nutritional benefits, ingredient quality and manufacturing standards. Also, ensure that it should be easily digestible and safe, free from toxins or any harmful chemicals.

Have a clear understanding on how various type of food, such as dry or raw food, meat or even the byproducts react in different animals. One…

View original post 81 more words