Guest author: Colleen Chesebro: Magical realism and the Heart Stone Chronicles

Attention writers of fantasy: a clarification between fantasy and magical realism defined by author Colleen M. Chesebro. Though I find the images of fairies too sensual to be considered children’s literature, this is still helpful information for those who do read/write in these genres. Reblogged from https://scvincent.com

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

2016-07-15-14-48-40

Cover Art by Bookxeedo Book Covers

Hi, everyone. I’d like to thank Sue for her kind invitation to visit and write a guest post. It is much appreciated and a great honor. For those of you who do not know me, my name is Colleen Chesebro. I am a writer, a poet, and a fairy whisperer…

I’ve just published my first book, and I wanted to share into what genre I categorized The Heart Stone Chronicles: The Swamp Fairy. First,  I added it to the children’s fantasy genre for ages ten years and up. After further research, I also added it to the magical realism genre because of the magical aspects of the novel.

I thought I would share a couple of distinct differences between fantasy and magical realism that will help you clarify your own writing.

“Fantasy is defined as a work of fiction where magic is the…

View original post 1,328 more words

2 thoughts on “Guest author: Colleen Chesebro: Magical realism and the Heart Stone Chronicles

Comments are closed.