How to Write More Meaningful Symbolism

This post is so insightful and helpful! I hope to be able to use these techniques in some of my future writing. Reblogged from https://ryanlanz.com

A Writer's Path

nature-669592_640

by Millie Ho

Netflix’s Luke Cage was an entertaining series, and it also helped me understand how to write better symbolism.

Here’s a summary of my talking points.

AVOID USING SUPERFICIAL SYMBOLISM  

In school, I was taught to reference existing works or mythologies if I was writing symbolism. For example, a guy who was strong would be given the name Hercules. Or I would use colours to represent different character attributes. Green was the colour of greed, so a character who was greedy would carry a green purse, which became a symbol.

View original post 375 more words

