5 Tips for Improving Dialogue

Good tips that I need to follow in my own writing. I don’t much care for the sound of my own voice, but will try reading my writing aloud. Thanks. re-blogged from mbarkersimpson.wordpress.com

Melissa Barker-Simpson

I recently had a discussion with a fellow writer about dialogue, and decided to share the processes I use to improve authenticity within my work.

quote

TIPS FOR IMPROVING DIALOGUE

  1. Give your imaginary friends a voice: I’ve talked about this before, but I often allow my characters free rein to have a discussion out of context, which basically means I let them loose to talk about whatever the hell they want. Those conversations, or pages of dialogue (almost like a script) rarely see the light of day. It’s the same as practising our skills by writing a scene or short story that is dialogue only. You can ignore all the normal rules; you don’t need any kind of structure. It’s like gathering a group of imaginary friends and allowing them the freedom to play. It can be fun, and is an excellent way to get to know your characters better.
  2. Follow…

View original post 399 more words

