You know, I never thought to ask…

This is something all of us writers need to be aware of. I’m sure the majority of us over-use some words. I hope my beta readers pick up on mine and let me know. Thanks for sharing, Dan.

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

head shot Your humble host

You know, I never thought to ask if there was a better procedure for doing this than what I’m doing.

So I’ll ask!

When my critique partners got done with my story, they had flagged a lot of “crutch words” along the way. Those are words you accidentally overuse or stick in when you need something – and they start to stick out to readers. Repetition creates an aura of sameness, of boredom, which is NOT what you want in a story you’ve spent untold hours working on to be compelling and gripping! They gotta go! But how?

All I did was make a list of those crutch words as my CPs pointed them out and then, one by one, take a crutch word and do a search in the manuscript for them one at a time, replacing them as I went. The word smile

View original post 489 more words

