Building Characters—one funeral at a time @barbtaub #wwwblogs

What a delightful travelogue, laden with rich characterizations and a deep desire (on my part) to write as a Brit. Re-blogged from alisonwilliamswriting.wordpress.com

Alison Williams Writing

A fabulous guest post from writer Barb Taub today – enjoy!

I don’t know. What do you think about during funerals?

I suppose you could think about your own life, and whether this many people would ever gather in one place just to say such nice things about you. But I’m a writer, so for me funerals are ALL about the character. What went into making that person who they ended up becoming? What kind of main character did their story have?

The last two funerals I attended were for the first two people I met after moving into the tiny village in the north of England. They had already been friends for decades (the phrase “partners in crime” came up often) when I met Margaret and Marion my first morning in the Castle. I’d arrived from the States the night before, and only had time to learn one thing…

View original post 1,353 more words

