I’d Rather Do It Myself

I’m not stubborn and I don’t have any pride. I just want to do things my way. I’m trying to learn all the ins and outs of creating a writer platform on social media. I know I need to keep up with every website there is. I know I need to keep up with my e-mail or I’ll be overwhelmed with helpful information and a dozen webinars to watch each week.

I understand the importance of following others, sharing blogs and posts, and re-blogging and supporting other authors and bloggers. After all, we are a community. We need each other. That includes me.

I also need to keep up with my writing.

Help! I need a manager. But what if my manager doesn’t understand the importance of all of these things? What if he/she tells me to just write and ignore all the other stuff for now?

Oh, no. I’ll lose my friends. I’ll get behind in my e-mail. I’ll get behind in my blog and lose followers.

Not to mention the things I’ll forget to do.

Is it fear? Or is it pride? Maybe it’s just plain stubbornness.

 What is the answer? My husband is very logical and intelligent. He knows me better than anyone else (and loves me anyway). He wants to see me succeed. The decision I came to should have been made years ago. I asked him to manage my writing and the business that goes with it.

 My blogging will be limited to once a week until the book is finished. I trust him and his judgment. He has waited a long time for me to let go of the reins and listen to his wisdom. It will be a great adventure.

