A Little Help From My Friends

Yay! I got my email inbox down to under 1500.  I can breathe and begin to concentrate on my writing again (at least until it gets backed up again).

I’m writing a trilogy with the continuing premise throughout the series that “the sins of the fathers are passed down to the third and fourth generation.”

The protagonist in Book I is Keith Innes Mackenzie, Mac for short. This is an adult series, dealing with issues that adults deal with but which affect their offspring for generations. I believe that some sins are generational curses. The original sin in this series is incest. Mac’s father is also his grandfather. I don’t write erotica and will not go into any details in the book other than to bring this out during Mac’s adult life. He has never known his grandfather/father. When his mother realized she was pregnant she fled Scotland (1837) via England and ended up in America. After she dies he finds her journal and learns the truth.

I’m putting this out there for all of you writers/authors out there, seeking your input. In my novel, Mending Fences, the opening scene is the anchor scene for the entire book. But I’m having a very hard time deciding on the anchor scene to set the tone for this book. What would you do with this background during this time period in history? How would you open it?

I will custom make bookmarks and mail them or send in an attachment to be printed on your own printer, to the first five people to respond. I promise not to copy your idea, but will give each one consideration and possibly tweak it for my own use. If you have written a novel (no occult themes or erotica, and please no foul language) I will gladly promote it on all of my social media.

Thanks in advance for your participation. Happy writing.

5 thoughts on “A Little Help From My Friends

  1. Thank you for following my blog. I am also writing a trilogy (two of the three published). The opener is a real challenge. What I did was repurpose the first book and explain to the antagonist and the reader how we got to where we are in the second. (I did not do a forward or extensive backstory. I also assumed the reader would never go near book one) I did this with a nightmare and then a doctor giving the protagonist an update on his injuries (in the first book the protagonist was caught in an explosion) I did this in about two pages of the first chapter and then moved on. I did bring little snippets of backstory in through out the book where I felt the information was needed. (you can go to look inside of His Revenge and read the first chapter to see how it came out.) Hope this helps.

    Like

    1. Hi, John. Thanks so much for the reply. So far, you are the only one who has responded. I will definitely check out the sample of His Revenge. Why do you think your readers wouldn’t go back to the first book? If I really like a book and author, I often re-read them. I have read Francine Rivers’s trilogy The Mark of the Lion Series (A Voice in the Wind, An Echo in the Darkness, and As Sure As the Dawn) at least four times. I’ve read most of Frank Peretti’s novels at least twice. You never know. Would you like a bookmark, or would you prefer notification of when my novel Mending Fences is in its free promotion? Or perhaps something else?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will just follow your blog. I really don’t expect anything. I don’t think my readers have a lot of time although I do have a faithful group who have read each book and are waiting for book three. It’s not that i don’t think they will go back it’s I am not expecting them too in order to understand the whole story. (Also reviewers hate it when there is another book that keeps them from understanding the current book. They fully expect that you will give them enough information this time around.)

        Like

  2. Just read the sample of His Revenge. Yep. I’m going to have to get it. I’m hooked. Won’t be today though. My birthday is later this month. Think My Grl and His Revenge will be my gift to myself. Lol.

    Like

Comments are closed.