Nancy Drew

I don’t think I ever read these three. Maybe I should go back and try to find them myself. If you are also a fan of those childhood memories, you might want to find the Cherry Ames series. She was a nurse. One year for Christmas my parents got me a set of five books: Heidi, The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew, Little Women, and two other books whose titles are lost in my mental file cabinet.

susieshy45

Don’t ask me why but recently when I was laid up and sick for about 2 weeks, I wanted to read simple and uncomplicated stories. I picked up the “Fourth Estate”  by Jeffrey Archer and the “Child left behind” by Anne Bennet but neither of them gave me that satisfaction that a Pink Whistle or a Famous Five ( Enid Blyton) book could have given me and I was too sick to think of going to a book shop and looking for books with innocence( is what I like to call them).

Finally about a week into my convalescence, I went to the local grocery store book section and found some of my childhood favourite series of books- Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene. I  used to love these books growing up but never have read the complete series- these books were often not available where I lived.

So I was…

View original post 322 more words

4 thoughts on “Nancy Drew

    • lovessiamese says:

      I just remembered the other two books I couldn’t remember: Little Women and The Bobbsey Twins. Loved them all. I have a fifteen year-old granddaughter who lives far from me, but whom my husband and I will be spending most of our spring through autumn with from now on. She is also a voracious reader so this winter, while we’re apart, we’re going to try to read the same books and take notes to compare. Maybe you and I could try the same at a later time.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. susieshy45 says:

    Bobbsey Twins, Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew- all childhood favourites. So also all books written by the English author – Enid Blyton- Famous Five, Five Findouters, The Enchanted Forest, Mr. PinkWhistle, The Family at Red Roofs and so many more. Childhood was truly magical, isn’t it and I think it behoves to make it magical for other children with whom we interact.
    God bless you !

    Like

  2. lovessiamese says:

    Thank you, Susie. My childhood wasn’t exactly magical, but not as bad as I thought it was at the time either. Adulthood and maturity have a way of clearing our perspective. I am thankful for my childhood (though I’d never want to repeat it). My life is indeed blessed. Hope yours is as well.

    Like

Comments are closed.