Goodreads Usage for Authors Pt. 1: Make Your Profile Visual

I need this advice, thought others might, too.

Archer's Aim

If you have a Goodreads account as an author there is one important aspect that you should use effectively. Well, actually the most important thing to do on Goodreads is be a reader. But just behind it is make your profile speak well of you.

A profile is undoubtedly an important part of every type of social media. But since Goodreads is THE social media of readers, then an author’s profile is doubly important. But what can you do to create a profile that attracts a potential reader on Goodreads?

I recently took a Writer’s Digest webinar that featured Michael J. Sullivan discussing his usage of Goodreads strategically. Users on Goodreads can be rather sensitive to how authors interact in the format. As an author, you don’t want to just leap into groups and shout about your book. It takes a deft approach. But when you do gain some attention…

View original post 480 more words

Cover Reveal: Pearseus, Schism

Nicholas C. Rossis

Another week, another redesign – or at least that’s what it feels like. Continuing the redesign of my book covers, it is now the turn of Pearseus: Schism to benefit from Alexios Saskalidis’ treatment.

Pearseus: Schism is the prequel to my epic fantasy series, Pearseus. For those who have read the story, the background represents the dirt ground where the survivors are forced to live, following the accident that landed them to the planet.

From the blog of Nicholas C. Rossis, author of science fiction, the Pearseus epic fantasy series and children's books Click to buy on Amazon

Once again, you can help me celebrate by giving away free copies. Just leave a comment asking for it, and I’ll get right on it!


Musiville, my second children’s book, will be published shortly. When it does, I will only leave a sample of award-winning Runaway Smile online. If you wanted to read it in its entirety for free, you only have a few days to do so!

View original post

Interview with J. Kahele Author of Violet Chain. @JanelleKahele

Lit World Interviews

Who do you get when you combine 129 Five Star Ratings and 83 Four Star Ratings on Amazon and GoodReads? An author I met about a year ago and did a somewhat stock interview with that I’ve thankfully gotten away from.

I was newish to the arena of interviews and she was generous to say yes. The worst part was, I hadn’t had an opportunity to read her work. But now? It’s a year later, I’ve read and reviewed her latest. And here we are again with another, what I believe better interview. And I like to call us friends. Just don’t tell her that. I don’t want to get the raised eyebrow of “Say What?” from her.

You may have read my review of her book, Violet Chain, the book we’re discussing today. I don’t think the review does the book as much justice as I might have…

View original post 1,205 more words

The 12-Step Program to Successful Self-Publishing – the talk and slide show

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

On Oct. 6th, 2015, I delivered the following talk and slide show at the Calgary Public Library. Here is the complete transcript as well as a list of further reading on the subject of self-publishing.

Talk for Calgary Public Library – blog version

Presentation1

Further Reading – blog version

Stephen King’s Reading List for Writers

Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose

View original post

Uploading and Setting up your Amazon Ebook – Does SEO Really Matter?

Maybe I’ll be an Indy author some day.

david gordon burke indie author

images (2)

I spend a lot of time looking at other writer´s works.  Sometimes I am reading INDIE authors, other times I am surfing around Amazon, looking at what is happening with other writers.  One of the things that amazes me is how little effort some writers put into all the work that needs to be done after the book is on-line.

Of course, there is a ton of criticism launched towards INDIE writers based on their work; I won’t get into that in this blog.  It´s an objective thing and I am well aware of the fact that I tend to be extremely critical of other´s works and oh, so forgiving of my own flaws.  This is the devil we all deal with day to day.  This is not a science.  The scientific part is what I wish to discuss today.

One huge issue is the cover.  I am astounded at…

View original post 692 more words

Markets For Writers

Time is running out! Get your entry in before the deadline.

esthernewtonblog

This week’s market is The Flash 500 Novel Opening Chapter and Synopsis Competition. It’s a fantatsic opportunity to have your work looked at by  editors from independent genre publishers Crooked Cat.

They’re looking for the opening chapter of your novel, up to 3000 words and a one-page synopsis.

First prize is £500 and there’s a £200 prize for the runner-up.

Entries are invited up until 31st October 2015 and an entry fee of £10 is payable by Paypal or credit/debit card.

For rules and how to send your entry, visit the website.

***

images

View original post

Promo Results: Using Free Promo Services

Nicholas C. Rossis

You may remember my recent promotion of Infinite Waters and The Power of Six. For five days, the former was available for free. The latter has stayed on 99c for a little longer, as I didn’t want to interrupt its downloads.

Go Free

From the blog of Nicholas C. Rossis, author of science fiction, the Pearseus epic fantasy series and children's books From timashton.org.uk

In the past, I’ve used paid services to announce my sales to the world. I usually spend between $50 and $100 per promo. Depending on the season, this generated between 300 and 3,000 downloads. The former was far more common though; that last one was a bit of a fluke, as it was Christmas, and I was accidentally helped by someone posting on Reddit about it (you can read all about it in my A-Z post).

This time, I went (almost) all free. Capital controls are still imposed in Greece, which means that I’m pretty restricted as to spending money abroad. So, I…

View original post 723 more words

A Boy Named Rabbit by @MarciaMeara #Bookreview #Contemporary #Paranormal

Can’t Miss This One!

Rosie Amber

A Boy Named Rabbit: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 2A Boy Named Rabbit: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 2 by Marcia Meara
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Boy Named Rabbit follows on from Wake-Robin Ridge. It is set in 2013 in the Blue Ridge mountains of North Carolina and focuses around the story of a young boy. This book has paranormal suspense elements.

10 year old Rabbit has lived in the mountains with just his Gran and Grampa for as long as he can remember. They live in a tent most of the year and caves during the winter with no contact with other people, apart from when Grampa goes to get supplies. Gran is ill and Grampa doesn’t return from a supply run. In her last hours Gran makes Rabbit promise to leave the mountain and find a man with black hair and special eyes.

Travelling for two months alone, Rabbit survives until he reaches Wake-Robin Ridge and…

View original post 198 more words

Cape Cod Promises by @Melissa_Foster @bellaandre @BrookCottageBks #Bookreview #Romance

Attention! Attention! Attention!
New books by authors on blog tour!

Rosie Amber

Cape Cod Promises (Love on Rockwell Island, #2)Cape Cod Promises by Bella Andre
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cape Cod Promises is book #2 of the Love On Rockwell Island series and is written jointly by Melisa Foster and Bella Andre. Set on a island off the East Coast of America this is the tale of Trent Rockwell and Reese Nicholson.

Ten years ago the pair were married, but the love they had on Rockwell island lost its way when they moved to New York for Trent’s demanding work as a lawyer. Long working days and weeks, left nineteen year old Reese frightened and lone in New York. Just six months into the marriage, she left him and returned to Rockwell to lick her wounds.

A decade is a long time to get over the hurt and Reese has now made a life for herself with her art. Trent’s’ Grandfather, Chandler Rockwell has insisted that his…

View original post 862 more words