All Cried Out – 2nd Round – NYCM Flash Fiction Challenge

I think I’d like to try this for Oct. Need lots of prayer to get this done though. I haven’t even read the requirements yet!

Jen's Pen Den

This past weekend marked the second round of the NYC Midnight Flash Fiction Challenge 2015. And it was…ouch!

In a nutshell, it was one of the hardest, most emotional writing experiences I’ve ever had.

Before I jump in, let me quickly remind you the The NYC Midnight (NYCM) Flash Fiction Challenge is a writing contest where writers are given three prompts (genre, location, and object), and then 48-hours to write a 1,000 word story. Yeah, it’s crazy.

As usual, the chaos began on Friday night when I opened my newest assignment:

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 11.26.43 AM

My first impressions?

Historical Fiction

A secret laboratory

A mouse.

I hit a brick wall instantly. I did not like my prompts. Thankfully, I happened to be at my mom’s house and she gave me a quick, “You can’t change it, so get over it” speech. So, I did…well, sort of. While she began Googling secret laboratories in history, I curled up on the couch…

View original post 972 more words

