A Little Late Night Reading

I’m changing the type of blogs I write. I will continue to reblog from others that have valuable posts but I’m going to begin posting things that are primarily about writing, or reading. Most writers are also voracious readers.

My husband is neither a writer (although he is my manager as he has the business sense, and sees the logical side of things) nor a reader.

Lately he has asked me to read to him some of the books I have enjoyed. I began reading to him one of my all-time favorite novels by my top favorite author: Francine Rivers. The book is “A Voice In The Wind.” It is an historical novel, the first in a trilogy called “The Mark of the Lion” series. All of her books are available on Amazon.

The setting for the series is during the time of the Roman Empire. There are four main characters: Haddassah is a young Hebrew girl who barely escapes with her life when the Romans come in and destroy Jerusalem around A.D. 70. Her people were starving, and those who didn’t starve to death were either killed by the Romans or local looter, or they were taken to as slaves to Rome.

Once in Rome, Haddassah becomes a personal slave to Julia, the headstrong fifteen-year-old daughter of a wealthy Roman family. Julia has an older brother, Marcus, who is very indulgent of his little sister. Both of them live in a morally depraved society, brought on by too much wealth and political debauchery. Marcus and Julia are always at odds with their old-fashioned parents.

The fourth character is Atretes, a German warrior of the Chatti tribe. They are a barbaric race that worships the god Tiwaz. Atretes is strong and it takes six Roman soldiers to defeat his army and bring him into captivity.

I won’t spoil the story by giving all of the details, but Francine Rivers is a master at weaving the stories of these characters together. You know them. You feel their frustration, their hurts, thei desperate longing for a peace they seem unable to find, no matter how much they entertain themselves.

In these stories I see many parallels between the Roman society then and our society today. Beware, folks. We may end up with the same fate as the Roman Empire. We have taken God’s blessings for granted.

One thought on “A Little Late Night Reading

Comments are closed.