Use your senses in your writing

This was fun to read while reminding myself to uses all five senses in my writing.

Live to Write - Write to Live

IMG_20150826_143603955

As a writer who has extensive tech writing experience, I admit that I sometimes have a difficult time with scene description.

I blame it on my Technical Writing training. Tech writing is all about “just the facts, ma’am.” It’s all about the who, what, when, where, and how of an action. And pretty much nothing else.

Creative (and I’m including memoir writing) is all about the facts and then some (ma’am.) When you write for entertainment you need to use the senses – the smell, visual, taste, hearing and sight information that you have literally at your fingertips. You also have to add thought and reason to any action.

As a tech writer, when I write directions, I’ll write something like:

  • Add one teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter.

Quick, efficient, absolute no doubt as to want I want the action to be.

But when I write creatively, constant directives…

View original post 655 more words

