Reflecting on NOLA – 5 THINGS Authors Should Know

Samantha Jacobey

This past week, I flew to New Orleans for a book signing that was held there – ARC NOLA. Jamie, one of my fangirls, administrators, and dearest friends, met me there, and we spent nearly three days hanging out and experiencing the city. Over all, we had a great time, and I have several posts in mind regarding some of those things that happened outside the event process itself. For this post, I would like to reflect upon and share some of my discoveries about signing events in general.

5 Things AUTHORS should know…

#1. YOUR PA – If you can take a helper, do so. Although this signing was less busy than some that I have been to, I was alone at my first one. You do NOT want to feel overwhelmed, and having an assistant can make things so much nicer, both when it’s busy and when it’s not…

View original post 581 more words

So You’ve Decided to Submit Your Manuscript (Guest Post)…

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

article-new_ehow_images_a02_05_ag_submit-play-literary-agent-800x800

If you’re serious about being traditionally published you will need an agent. The majority of publishers don’t accept unsolicited manuscripts, so finding someone to represent you and your work is essential for getting that elusive book deal. I’ve been down the submission path myself (and have the pile of rejection letters to prove it). As it turned out, I wasn’t ready at the time, and neither was my book, but I didn’t let it get me down (too much). Instead, I went online, joined a writing forum, read as much as I could, attended a seminar and gave my book to several more people to read. And I learnt a lot, both about the type of book I was writing and about how to submit to agents. So I thought I’d share it with you.

  1. Stick to the guidelines. Now, this may seem pretty basic stuff, but it is so

View original post 656 more words

Writing Prompt — 3

Anna Dobritt -- Author

100-250 Words. No TO BE verbs (Am, are, is, was, were, be, been, become, became).

No -ly Adverbs.

A stranger bumps into you, later you check your pocket. The note that was slipped inside sends you on a journey you never expected.

221 Words
The lunch crowd in the cafeteria made it difficult to maneuver. One guy bumped into me and I almost fell. Stupid ass didn’t bother to apologize either. I often wonder why I stay in this dead-end job, the endless entering of numbers and names into a database. Is this what I went to college for?

I grab a sandwich and reach into my pocket for money. Instead of pulling out a five-dollar bill, I find a folded piece of paper. I shove it back in my pocket and bring out the cash needed. Back at my desk, I check the paper and my eyebrows meet my…

View original post 71 more words

Can You Change Paper Trim Size and Colour on CreateSpace?

Changing paper trim size and color on createspace. If I ever get a create space page I’ll need this info.

Lit World Interviews

Before publishing your first paper book with CreateSpace there are a couple of things to consider. Even though you can update it and change the content, once the book has its ISBN and is live for sale you can’t change its size and the colour of the paper. Also, once it’s linked to its Kindle book on Amazon they keep a certain amount of printed books in stock for their quick delivery system, so if you find any major errors in it and rush to fix them, those in stock books will still have to sell first before the corrected ones become available. You could order them yourself I suppose, but I’m not sure how many are printed for this and I don’t see how you could get them from Amazon’s other country sites.

Most of the CreateSpace books that I have bought are 6” x 9”, mostly printed on…

View original post 281 more words

Daily Devotion-The Elijah Factor or How 1 Man Made a Difference-God Protects His Man

Truth in Palmyra

1 Kings 17:2-4

And the word of the LORD came unto him, saying, Get thee hence, and turn thee eastward, and hide thyself by the brook Cherith, that is before Jordan. And it shall be, that thou shalt drink of the brook; and I have commanded the ravens to feed thee there.


Scripture never says this explicitly, but there is little doubt that Ahab was, to put it mildly, angry after Elijah’s visit. So, God warned him to go hide by the brook Cherith where He would be safe.

Why would Ahab have been angry?  Well, we know by now Ahab was doing wrong in many, many ways. He had married a idolatrous woman and she had turned Ahab, and subsequently the entire nation of Israel away from the True God. It is doubtful that Ahab was simply clueless about the state of his heart and his actions. Even today…

View original post 437 more words

Writing Fiction for Children (Guest Post)…

Wonderful books for children. Just wait until you read these!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

deanie-humphrys-dunneSuppose you want to write a fictional story for children. What are some of the things you need to do? One of the first steps is deciding on your message. For example, in my first fiction story, Charlie the Horse, I wanted my young readers to know how important it is to focus on your work and always try your best, even if you’re not in the mood that day. Charlie had all sorts of trouble concentrating on his work during his training. He would much rather eat the tulips and daffodils that decorated the sides of the race track! He liked to think about his appetite, as well. He was always ready for dinner! Charlie wanted to become a famous race horse like his dad, Charles the Great, but he had a lot to learn before he could reach his goal. One of the things I did to…

View original post 553 more words

Featurette: Superstition Mountains in Phoenix, Arizona

I love Arizona and these photos really show off the clarity of the mountains and desert areas during nice weather, and the sand wall that blows through once or twice a year.

International Bellhop Travel Magazine

497274553

One of the most iconic mountains in Arizona, and in the Southwestern United States, The Superstition Mountains have a long history of strange occurrences, myths, tales, and riches that add to the already-rich history of Phoenix, Arizona and the desert surrounding it.

The Superstition Mountains are a range of mountains just to the east of the Phoenix Metropolitan Area, and is characterized by the main namesake mountain featuring sheer rock cliffs and spires of red rocks jutting upward along the front face. A popular recreational area for Phoenix area residents and visitors to the Valley of the Sun, the Superstitions offer a source for hiking, rock climbing, horseback riding, camping and even entertainment at the nearby Goldfield Ghost Town.

480216675

The Legend of the Lost Dutchman

Probably the most famous story tied to the Superstition Mountains is the Legend of the Lost Dutchman. In the late 1800s, a German immigrant named…

View original post 798 more words

How To Think Sideways and Other Posts

Holly Lisle is one of my favorite online writing instructors. She has written numerous novels and books on the craft of writing in different genres. She offers some free courses and some that are not free. Her website has downloadable worksheets to go with her books on the craft of writing. Her most recent post … Continue reading How To Think Sideways and Other Posts

Advertising: Amazon vs. Goodreads

chrismcmullen

Image from ShutterStock. Image from ShutterStock.

ADVERTISING e-BOOKS

Since KDP introduced Advertising Marketing Services (AMS) for KDP Select books earlier this year, I’ve placed 50 ads on a variety of nonfiction Kindle e-books.

I’ve also placed over a dozen ads with Goodreads. It’s interesting to compare the two options for advertising e-books.

AUDIENCE

There are two great things about advertising right on Amazon’s website or on a Kindle device (both are possible with AMS via KDP):

  • Many of the customers who see your ad are already shopping for other books, i.e. they are looking for books to read, they have their wallets out, and they are ready to spend money.
  • Since they are already on Amazon, your ad isn’t interrupting some other activity and trying to persuade customers to leave one site to visit another.

If you advertise at Goodreads with a link to your Amazon product page, you’re asking readers who were…

View original post 1,302 more words