Can You Write A Story In 150-Words?

Wow. I have to try this. Check out this amazing flash fiction by Jen!

Jen's Pen Den

A few weeks ago, my online writer’s group introduced me to a weekly flash fiction contest hosted by Ad Hoc Fiction. Basically, writers are given a prompt word (ex: feather, bark, note) and they must include it in a 150 worded story.

Yep! That’s it. Just 150 words to address all the vital components of a story and satisfy readers…*gulp*

Once the deadline passes, the submissions are posted on Ad Hoc’s website and the public votes for a winner. It’s free (yes, FREE), it’s fun, and it’s a great way to challenge yourself. So give it a shot! Whether you want to learn, warm up, or win, you’re sure to have a blast with Ad Hoc Fiction.

Below is a story I submitted a few weeks ago. The prompt word I had to include was “plaster”. Enjoy!


“Crumb Layer”

by Jenna Willett

When I was little, my mom would let me help her frost cakes. “Remember, Annie,” she’d say…

View original post 147 more words

