I Want a Bicycle–a joke

Little Joey went to his mother and requested a new bicycle for his birthday.

“Now, Joey, do you really think you’ve been a good enough little boy to deserve a bicycle? Tell you what. Go to your room and write God a letter telling Him why you deserve a bicycle.”

Joey rushed upstairs to his room and began to write.

Letter #1: “Dear God, I have been a good boy. . .” He crumpled up the paper and threw it away. He knew that wasn’t true.

Letter #2: “Dear God, I have been an okay boy this year.  . .” He crumpled it again. That was another lie.

Letter #3: “Dear God, I have not been a good boy this year, but I really would like a new bicycle.” He crumpled that one as well. There was no way God was going to give him a bicycle for his birthday. He hadn’t been good at all this year.

He ran down the stairs and out the door, running to the church two blocks down the street. His mother was so pleased. Surely he was going to get things straight with the Lord and everything would be okay.

Joey came running back into the house with a small statue of the virgin Mary clutched tightly in his hand.

Letter #4: “Dear God, I’ve got your mama. If you want her back, give me a bicycle.”

2 thoughts on “I Want a Bicycle–a joke

  1. Thanks for the laugh! Great joke.
    It reminds me of one my boss told me when I worked for the highway department in North Dakota:-Four-year-old Johnny went to church with his mom, and was being fidgety and making noise. His mother told him she would give him a nickel if he behaved. Johnny replied, “No, mom, I want to be good for nothing just like Dad.”

    Like

  2. Thanks. That was cute. Needs to be shared. After all, laughter really is the best medicine for the soul. (See Proverbs. Forgot which verse but “a merry heart does good like a medicine.”

    Like

Comments are closed.