Jonathan Edwards, Prayer, and A Heavenly Experience

Oh, the love that drew salvation’s plan, and brought it down to man! Oh the mighty gulf that God did span–at Calvary. This is one of my favorite hymns. Oh how I long to be the servant my Lord deserves. He does fill me up when I take time to let Him.

Gospel Relevance

In his book, The Works of Jonathan Edwards: Letters and Personal Writings, George S. Claghorn gives us a glimpse of a taste Jonathan Edward’s once had in prayer:

Once . . . in divine contemplation and prayer, I had a view that for me was extraordinary, of the glory of the Son of God, as Mediator between God and man, and his wonderful, great, full, pure, and sweet grace and love, and meek and gentle condescension . . . The person of Christ appeared ineffably excellent with an excellency great enough to swallow up all thought and conception . . . which continued as near as I can judge, about an hour; which kept me the greater part of the time in a flood of tears, and weeping aloud. I felt an ardency of soul to be, what I know not otherwise how to express, emptied and annihilated; to…

View original post 64 more words

