10 things Hilary Mantel knows about writing Quotes for Writers (and people who like quotes)

Wow, I’m collecting tidbits of information from other bloggers. Love it. I’ll take all the help I can get, and reblog/share it so others can benefit too. Thanks for sharing.

BRIDGET WHELAN writer

This list is an extract from a post by Hilary Mantel, the international bestselling author, and seems like a good and thought-provoking way to start the new year. It originally appeared in the blog for The Story Prize.The Story Prize is an annual book award for short story collections written in English and published in the U.S. during a calendar year. For more information, go to www.thestoryprize.org.

Quotes for writers

Ten things I’ve learned….since I started writing my first novel, in 1974 (which feels like yesterday). Ten things to think about, or ten rules I try to keep: I won’t call them advice, as I’d hardly presume to give it.

  1. If you see a problem in your narrative, go there fast. Head for the point of danger. It’s where the energy is.

    2. Free up your creativity: Liberate it from your expectations and experience. When you have an idea, don’t assume…

View original post 171 more words

