All Things Work Together

If I have shared this before, please forgive me. I go through times of reminiscing, especially during this time of year, a time when we choose to celebrate God choosing to come to earth in human form, starting as a baby, to identify with us. Not only to identify with us as humans, but suffer all the cruelty humanity can dish out, and to actually become sin for us, to take our punishment, so we don’t have to spend eternity in torment. That’s not to say we can just use God as fire insurance to keep us out of hell. If that’s all it means to us then we probably aren’t saved. When I realized how much God loved me, I learned to love Him in return. Love comes with responsibilities. I don’t want to disappoint Him or hurt Him in any way, although because I still have this fleshly, earthly body, I do hurt Him, almost on a daily basis.

God’s love reached out to me long before I knew how much He loved me. I know I’ve written before about my great grandmother having Bible coloring books for me, and about spending nearly a year with my mom’s divorce family while I was in first grade. Being the only girl, spoiling was natural for them I suppose. The thing that left its mark on me, though, was a one-day ladies’ retreat Orpha took me to. She held my hand as we walked up a hill where a group of ladies were singing “Standing On The Promises Of God.” To this day that song holds a special place in my heart and I can’t think of it or sing it without crying for the sheer joy of the memory.

Nevertheless, the knowledge that Jesus came to earth to save me from my sin (nature), to offer me a pardon for my sins, was not known to me until I was about 23 years old. I had gotten pregnant, married the baby’s father (still my husband today), and had my first-born child. Being a child of the 60’s I believed the lie that living together before marriage was best. (If that’s true why aren’t marriages lasting longer today than they did when shacking up was taboo?)

My husband’s parents and my parents were all ashamed of our situation. When I asked Jesus to forgive me and be my Lord and Savior, the realization became clear that this lifestyle had not been pleasing to God either. And yet. . .

If I had not been pregnant Tom and I probably would not have married. If we hand’t married I would not have met my sister-in-law. It is she who is responsible for introducing me to the Lord Jesus Christ.

This is one of many proofs of Romans 8:28 which states, “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.”

Because of His great love, and naught that I have done, I am a child of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. As the psalmist wrote, “He has made me glad.” To God be the glory.

2 thoughts on “All Things Work Together

  1. Thank you for sharing this part of your testimony. What amazing things God has done in your life, and what a gift he gave you as a writer! Merry, merry Christmas!!!!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much, Dawn. I really love your writing. You express yourself so well. May you and your family have a blessed and healthy Christmas. God bless you, dear friend.

    Like

Comments are closed.