God’s Wings:

The imagery expressed in these verses, that God cares for us as a mother hen cares for her chicks, covered with her wings, facing the danger for them. God faces our danger for us, hides us in His tender protective care. We are safe in Him.

Daily Devotions with Dawn

Psalms 57:1

Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee; yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.

My King James Bible says that David wrote this Psalm when he fled from Saul in the cave.

David had some real troubles in his lifetime. He needed refuge, strength, help, deliverance, forgiveness, and more. He wrote songs and poems about fear, war, bitterness, and usually ended them in gratefulness and acknowledgement of God.

David encourages me.

He prays for God to be merciful as he is being sought by King Saul. The King wants to kill David.

David tells God that he trusts Him, and will take refuge under the protection of the wings of God, until the situation passes.

Psalm 91:4 He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt…

View original post 139 more words

