I’m Thankful For. . .#11

My mother-in-law had to be taken to the emergency room last night. They did an ultrasound and admitted her. She had surgery this morning. I am thankful that the surgery went well. She’s 87 years old and quite a trooper. She has been diagnosed wtih diverticulitis and may have to wear a colostomy bag for at least a year. She’ll be in the hospital for about a week.

I have been abdominally miserable for two weeks. I looked up the symptoms this evening, and the diet. I believe there is a strong possibility I have the same problem I was diagnosed with colitis back in 1976. The doctory prescribed Bentyl which I took for a couple of years. I stopped having symptoms and never renewed the prescription. I had occasional flare ups in the years after that, but not often enough to warrant going back on the medication.

About 20 years ago I was diagnosed with a Heiedel hernia, but the ultrasound showed it in my abdomen. Everyone I’ve ever talked to said this type of hernia is only found near the esophagus. When I saw the picture of the diverticulus on the internet tonight, it looked just like what that doctor said was a hernia.

I have no medical insurance since I don’t make enough money to be eligible for Obama care, and our governor isn’t expanding the Medicaid base. So, I’m going to follow the protocol for the diverticulitis diet (not going to be easy with Thursday being Thanksgiving) because I’d rather be rid of the pain than eat something that’s going to make me miserable. If it works, great. If not, we do have Samaritan’s Touch here, which has doctors that come to this town twice a week and treat patients for free. I don’t know how long it would take to get approved and then get an appointment. I already have the paperwork. I just need to finish filling it out and drive about 35 miles to drop it off. In the meantime, I’m trying the diet.

Happy Thanksgiving to all. I intend to enjoy it in spite of all of the things I won’t be eating. I’ll be without pain. That’s good enough for me.

2 thoughts on “I’m Thankful For. . .#11

  1. Rose Red says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, and I hope you get the relief you need. I’ve had family members with diverticulitis and I didn’t know it could get that bad. take care

    Like

  2. lovessiamese says:

    Thanks. She’s going to be okay but will have some permanent dietary changes when she gets out of hospital. I’m doing a colon cleanse now, hopefully will avoid this problem. Will follow her diet with her, just to be sure I don’t end up in same situation.

    Like

Comments are closed.