No Mirrors, No Problem

I was looking at another blog yesterday and it asked the question: what if there were no mirrors anywhere? Here are my thoughts on that theme.

If there were no mirrors anywhere there would be far less vanity and conceit.

We would be dependent on others to tell us if our hair was unkempt. We would, perhaps be more focused on others and less on ourselves.

Perhaps we would be more genuine in our dealings with others since vanity would be out of the way.

Perhaps we would be more tolerant of those who are different from ourselves.

Perhaps there would be less bullying in schools (maybe not).

Maybe, just maybe, we use God’s Word as our mirror to see ourselves from His perspective. If we did that, it wouldn’t matter what’s on the outside. We would be more concerned with what’s in our hearts, and what flows out from there.

I am a KJV only believer, but I also believe that if God could use a donkey (as in Numbers 22:21-34), He can use anything. It is not my place to judge anyone. I try to encourage; sometimes it comes out wrong. If you don’t like the KJV and are using another source, please remember to ask the Holy Spirit to give you His wisdom, knowledge and discernment as you study. When I first asked the Lord to forgive me and save me from my sins I had been given a Good News for Modern Man.  It helped me understand a little. Then I was given a KJV, which somehow got lost or left behind when the army sent us to Germany. A chaplain gave me a Revised Standard Version (which I no longer see on bookstore shelves). When we returned stateside I again got a KJV.  As I compared the RSV with the KJV I discovered whole chapters missing and verses completely twisted (in the RSV).

If I was to use any other version alongside the KJV it would be the American Standard Version, although it has changed many times since I first used it.

Tomorrow I will post my objections to the newer versions (translations). I’m not asking anyone to agree with me, just offering food for thought. I would encourage believers to use these thoughts as a guide to do their own research and come to their own conclusions as they pray and ask God for wisdom. My goal is not to criticize or in any way dissuade anyone from reading the Bible. My goal is to help us see the wiles of our enemy, Satan, and not fall into his deceptions.

More on this tomorrow. God bless.

 

