Why Do I Write?

Sometimes it’s hard to know what to write. I don’t know what you, my readers, want to know, what you are interested in. I’d really like to know.

I want to write stories about hope through trials, strength through tragedy, faith through tribulation. I want to write things that give people hope when there doesn’t seem to be any. I want people to know, even if they don’t believe in God, that God does love them, and cares for them, regardless of ethnicity, social status, job, or anything else. God created us to have fellowship with Him. He wants people to put their faith, hope, trust, and even love, in Him.

Why do bad things happen to good people? Well, first of all this is a question of misconception. None of us are good. We are all born sinners in need of a Savior. The first step to having a relationship with God is acknowledging that, no matter how hard we try, we sometmes lose our cool, say mean hateful things, think about things we have no business thinking about, etc. We just can’t be good. 

Who are we comparing ourselves to: the murderer on death row, the thief, the pedophile? (By the way, God loves them, too; He just doesn’t like their actions. Jesus died on the cross for them, too. Unfortunately, they are doomed for hell unless they realize how much they are loved by their Creator, and ask Him for forgiveness and a new heart to love Him.) God does not compare us to any other human being. He compares us to His only BEGOTTEN Son, Jesus. Jesus had never known a bad thought, much less a bad deed. He was fully God and fully man, thus able (the only one able) to pay the penalty for our sins.

Bad things happen because: a) God wants us to turn to Him for help; b) to increase our faith, and c) so that others will see our faith and want the same relationship with God that we have. How we handle adversity is a testimony to those around us.

Would a good God send anyone to hell? No. God is good, just and holy. He expects us to at least try to be holy. But the ONLY sin that sends people to hell is rejection of Jesus Christ and His sacrifice on the cross. Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No man comes to the Father, but by me.” John 14:6. Anyone who ends up in hell goes by their own choice. God simply passes the sentence that we have already chosen for ourselves. “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is long-suffering (patient) to us-ward (toward us, people), not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentence.” 2 Peter 3:9

Due to lack of space, I will mention here the verses that may help anyone who is seeking to know their Creator/Father on a personal level. God wants to adopt you into His family. He wants you to be His child. The following verse references will show how to have that relationship. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know. I’ll be happy to help you.

Romans 3:10, 23; Romans 5:8, 12, 13; 6:23; Ephesians 5:8, 9; Romans 10:9, 10, 13; Luke 18:13; and John 3:16, 17. God bless. I care. If you don’t understand the passages, I’ll be happy to help you. I’ve been a child of God for over 30 years and have done my best to let Him lead me ever since. I was 23 years old before I ever heard that Jesus died on a cruel cross for my sins.

